Art In Public Places Board
Photo Gallery

The Key West Art in Public Places Board was created in 2000 to help in the creation of new beautiful works of art for our residents and visitors to enjoy in various public locations around our island. The mission of the board is:

“To advise the City Commission in the selection and location of public art in the City of Key West; to enhance and maintain the character and identity of our island community through the aesthetic of public art; to create a physical and human environment which nurtures artists, arts organizations, and arts producers; to nurture and preserve cultural diversity consistent with and reflecting Key West’s population; and to promote the inclusion of aesthetic considerations in local decision-making through advocacy, services, financial and technical assistance, and leadership in the community.”

Since its founding, the Key West Art in Public Places Board has supervised the creation of numerous works of art around the City. Some of these include the floor design of the new Mary & John Spottswood Waterfront Park by JT Thompson, three murals at the Southernmost Waste to Energy Facility by Chod Stine, Dick Moody, and Jae DeVoe, a ceramic fountain by Jay Gogin at the new Police Station, and murals that adorn the planters at the AIDS Memorial at the White St. Pier by Wally McGregor. The Key West Art in Public Places Board was also a sponsor of the 2003 Art in the Park event at Ft. Zachary Taylor.


 Frank Garner (chair)
 Monica Haskell
 Hal Bromm
 Florence Recher
 Phyllis May
 Burney Stafford
 Mimi McDonald